TBT 2020 Round of 24: July 4 Game Previews & Schedule


By: Josh Goldfine | @jgoldfine

TBT 2020 Tips off on July 4

Game 1: (9) Big X vs. (24) D2 - 3 pm, ESPN

Big X has a collection of Big Ten legends, including Ohio State alum C.J. Jackson and Michigan State product Nick Ward. After losing to eventual champion Carmen’s Crew in the second round last summer, Big X looks to advance to the third round for the first time. D2 brings a deep and experienced roster to its second TBT appearance. Last year, the scrappy group lost a two-point game to the Fort Wayne Champs in the second round after upsetting the Bluegrass Boys in its opening game.


Game 2: (12) Brotherly Love vs. (21) Stillwater Stars - 5 pm, ESPN

Novar Gadson and Samme Givens teamed up to lead the tough Brotherly Love squad to an upset over top-seeded Boeheim’s Army in the Syracuse Regional last summer before falling to Team Hines in the quarterfinals. The Stillwater Stars, an Oklahoma State alumni squad, makes its TBT debut. Notable names include Le'Bryan Nash, the fourth-leading scorer in Cowboys’ history, 2020 alum Thomas Dziagwa, and Brian Williams.



Game 3: (16) House of Paign vs. (17) War Tampa - 8 pm, ESPN

House of 'Paign, a University of Illinois alumni squad, makes its TBT debut. Mike Daum (South Dakota State University), the NCAA’s seventh-leading scorer, supplements several talented Illini players. War Tampa brings an interesting mix of players from Auburn’s 2019 Final Four squad with Fletcher Magee, the NCAA’s all-time leader in three pointers. 



Game 4: (13) CP3 vs. (20) PrimeTime Players - 10 pm, ESPN

Team CP3, led by GM Chris Paul, seeks another deep run in its second TBT appearance after reaching the Greensboro Regional final last summer. P.J. Hairston led the team back from an 18-point deficit in an opening-round win over Tampa 20/20.The PrimeTime players, a collection of minor league hoops players mostly from the North Carolina area, return for another year in TBT and look for a repeat of 2018, when guard Sean Barnette paced the squad to a Super 16 appearance